Hawaii Targeted Employment Areas (EB-5)

As designated by the Hawaii Governor, Hawaii State Department of Business, Economic Development & Tourism is responsible in issuing certification letters for the Regional Centers working on the investment immigration (EB-5) program. To request a certification letter, you need to send a request in writing with the following information:

Name of Regional Center or company name
Address of the Regional Center or company
Contact information (name, phone, email address)
Brief description of the project
Location of the project (street, city, and zip code)

Request can be sent by fax at 808-586-8449 or mailed to:

Dr, Eugene Tian
Research and Economic Analysis Division
Hawaii State Department of Business, Economic Development & Tourism
PO Box 2359
Honolulu, Hawaii 96804

Based on the definition of the Federal Regulation at 8 CFR 204.6(i), the Island of Hawaii and Island of Kauai are rural areas and the whole islands are qualified for $500,000 investment under the EB-5 program. The Island of Oahu is a metropolitan area with certain areas on the island designated as targeted employment areas (see Honolulu TEA) for the map and data sheet for the TEA on Oahu. The Island of Maui, Molokai, and Lanai are under the Kahului-Wailuku-Lahaina metropolitan statistical area (MSA), TEAs on these islands are listed in the Excel file under Maui TEA tab.

Governor Neil Abercrombie designation letter

West Oahu TEA

Maui TEA