HAWAII HOUSING FINANCE AND DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS ANNUAL MEETING

JULY 8, 2021

MINUTES

The Board of Directors (Board) of the Hawaii Housing Finance and Development Corporation (HHFDC) met virtually for their Annual Meeting at their office, located at 677 Queen Street, Suite 300, Honolulu, Hawaii, on Thursday, July 8, 2021.

CALL TO ORDER/ ROLL CALL

A roll call was taken and with a quorum present, Chair Donn Mende called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

Those present and excused were as follows:

Present:

Director Donn Mende, Chair

Director Gary Mackler, Vice Chair Director Rona Fukumoto, Secretary

Director Carol Reimann Director Mel Kahele Director Sean Sasaki Director Kymberly Sparlin

Executive Director Denise Iseri-Matsubara

Excused:

Designee Gloria Chang for Director Craig Hirai

Director Mike McCartney

Staff Present:

Sandra Ching, Deputy Attorney General

Francis Keeno, Executive Assistant Janice Takahashi, Chief Planner

Darren Ueki, Housing Finance Manager Holly Osumi, Chief Financial Officer Dean Minakami, Development Branch Chief Jocelyn Iwamasa, Housing Finance Specialist Nathan Akamu, Housing Finance Specialist Mark Ogata, Housing Finance Specialist

Theresa Dean, Housing Development Specialist Albert Palmer, Housing Development Specialist Melissa Loy, HHFDC Corporate Controller

Keri Higa, Planner

Lanz Dong, Real Estate and Compliance Specialist

Gordon Pang, Housing Information Officer Marc Orbito, Information Tech Systems Analyst

Esa Pablo, Secretary to the Board

Guests:

Christopher Flaherty, `Ikenakea Development LLC Keegan Flaherty, `Ikenakea Development LLC

Marnie Klein, Millier Housing Advisors

Kali Watson, Hawaiian Community Development Board Patti Barbee, Hawaiian Community Development Board

Kevin Carney, EAH Housing Marian Gushiken, EAH Housing Stanley Chang, Hawaii State Senate Anthony DeGuzman, CDS International

Glenn Miura, CDS International
Mark Hashem, Hocking Building I

Mark Hashem, Hocking Building LLC Kevin Unemori, Hocking Building LLC Chair Mende opened the floor for nominations.

Director Sparlin moved, seconded by Director Kahele, to nominate Director Donn Mende as the Board Chair.

There being no objections, the motion was carried unanimously.

Director Reimann moved, seconded by Director Kahele, to nominate Director Gary Mackler as the Board Vice Chair.

There being no objections, the motion was carried unanimously.

Director Sparlin moved, seconded by Director Kahele, to nominate Director Rona Fukumoto as the Board Secretary.

There being no objections, the motion was carried unanimously.

With all nominations accepted and closed, Director Kahele moved, seconded by Director Sparlin, to adjourn the meeting at 9:04 a.m.

The motion was carried unanimously.

Rona Fukumoto

RONA FUKUMOTO Secretary

III. A.
ELECTION
OF BOARD
OFFICERS
Chair

III. B.
ELECTION
OF BOARD
OFFICERS
Vice Chair

III. C. ELECTION OF BOARD OFFICERS Secretary

VI. ADJOURNMENT 9:04 a.m.