## HAWAII HOUSING FINANCE AND DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS ANNUAL MEETING

July 13, 2023

## **MINUTES**

The Board of Directors (Board) of the Hawaii Housing Finance and Development Corporation (HHFDC) held its annual meeting on Thursday, July 13, 2023, at 9:01 a.m., in the HHFDC Board Room, located at 677 Queen Street, Suite 300, Honolulu, Hawaii. The meeting was also livestreamed via Zoom and YouTube.

I. CALL TO ORDER/ ROLL CALL

A roll call was taken with a quorum present. Those present and excused were as follows:

Present:

Director Gary Mackler, Chair (in-person)

Director Carol Reimann, Vice Chair (in-person) Director Sean Sasaki, Secretary (in-person)

Director Jason Bradshaw (remote) Director Jay Kimura (in-person) Director Nani Medeiros (remote)

Designee Dane Wicker for Director James Tokioka (remote)

Interim Executive Director Dean Minakami

Excused:

Director Donn Mende

Director Luis Salaveria

Staff:

Sandra Ching, Deputy Attorney General

Ryan Kanakaole, Deputy Attorney General

Delmond Won, Executive Assistant Chris Woodard, Chief Planner

David Oi, Housing Finance Manager Holly Osumi, Chief Financial Officer

Randy Chu, Interim Development Branch Chief Rodney Shiraishi, Development Support Unit Manager

Kan Cheung, Housing Finance Specialist Lee Miller, Property Management Specialist Hunter Miller, Real Estate & Planning Analyst Albert Palmer, Housing Development Specialist

Marc Orbito, Information Technology Systems Analyst

Gordon Pang, Housing Information Officer Helmer Betiong, Information Technology Intern

Esa Pablo, Secretary to the Board

Guests:

Craig Hirai, City and County of Honolulu Department of Planning and

Permitting

Stanley Chang, Hawaii State Senator

Marian Gushiken, EAH Questor Lau, EAH

Alana Pakkala, Kobayashi Group Elton Wong, Kobayashi Group Chris Ruane, Kobayashi Group Wendy Matsukawa, Kobayashi Group

Gavin Hogan, Kobayashi Group Miles Lin, Kobayashi Group Jim Ivory, Foulger Pratt

Thomas Fischer, Ikaika Ohana Moe Mohanna, Highridge Costa

HHFDC Annual Meeting - July 13, 2023

Audrey Awaya, Pacific Housing Assistance Corporation Jessica Gasmen, Pacific Housing Assistance Corporation Karen Arakawa, Pacific Housing Assistance Corporation Devin Belnap, Riverbend Carlo Mireles, Mirein Development Kino Shigekane, KS Renovation Consultants LLC Kenna StormoGipson, housing policy advocate Summer Yadao, community member and housing advocate Ava Goldman, Ava Goldman Associates, LLC Jesse Wu, HUD Paul Zweng, Waiahole Kathy Oshiro, Waiahole Justin Saito, Waiahole Laurence and Helene Uyemura, Waiahole Josh Chang Maggie Hall Toni (screen name) Devin (screen name) churnt (screen name) ChunKB (screen name) Econtrades (screen name) millerla (screen name) rod s (screen name) Rowena (screen name) Paul (screen name)

Acting Chair Mackler confirmed that there was no one present at the remote locations of Directors Bradshaw, Medeiros, and Designee Wicker.

There being no testimony provided by the public, Acting Chair Mackler opened for nominations of board officers.

Director Sasaki nominated Director Gary Mackler to serve as the board chair. Director Reimann seconded the motion.

The motion was carried unanimously.

Acting Chair Mackler nominated Director Carol Reimann to serve as the board vice chair. Director Sasaki seconded the motion.

The motion was carried unanimously.

Acting Chair Mackler nominated Director Sean Sasaki to resume as the board secretary. Director Reimann seconded the motion.

The motion was carried unanimously.

With all nominations accepted and closed, Director Sasaki moved, seconded by Director Reimann to adjourn the meeting at 9:05 a.m.

The motion was carried unanimously.

Sean Sasaki

SEAN SASAKI Secretary II.A.
ELECTION
OF BOARD
OFFICERS
Chair

II.B.
ELECTION
OF BOARD
OFFICERS
Vice-Chair

II.C.
ELECTION
OF BOARD
OFFICERS
Secretary

ADJOURNMENT 9:05 a.m.