Small Business Regulatory Review Board Elects 2020-2021 Officers

Posted on Jun 24, 2020 in News

Small Business Regulatory Review Board
For Immediate Release: June 24, 2020

HONOLULU—The Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism’s (DBEDT) Small Business Regulatory Review Board (SBRRB) has announced its officers for fiscal year 2020 to 2021.

Robert Cundiff, chair (Oahu) – Mr. Cundiff has been a board member since 2016; he is a business consultant with Lokama Group.

Mary Albitz, vice-chair (Maui) – Ms. Albitz is the owner of Island Art Party in Kīhei, Maui. She has been an SBRRB member since 2018.

Garth Yamanaka, second vice-chair (Hawaii Island) – Mr. Yamanaka works at Yamanaka Enterprises, Inc., in Hilo, specializing in residential and commercial sales, and property management. He has been an SBRRB member since 2015.

Other board members are Harris Nakamoto (Oahu), Nancy Atmospera-Walch (Oahu), William Lydgate (Kauai) Jonathan Shick (Oahu) James “Kimo” Lee (Hawaii Island), and new member Taryn Rodighiero (Kauai).

“I am especially supportive of these members who volunteer their time to help reduce Hawaii’s regulatory impacts on the small business community,” said DBEDT Director Mike McCartney. I extend my sincere appreciation and wish them the best in fulfilling their duties to improve and enhance the growth and success of Hawaii small businesses.”

About the Board:

The SBRRB was established on July 1, 1998 with the passage of the Small Business Regulatory Flexibility Act. The responsibilities of the SBRRB include:

  1. Commentary on small business impact statements to the rule-drafting agencies;
  2. Identification and commentary on business impact of existing administrative rules;
  3. Recommendations to the governor’s office, state agencies or the Legislature for the need for an administrative rule or legislative change;
  4. Recommendations to the mayors or county councils regarding county rules; and
  5. Review of small business petitions and complaints on business impact.

The SBRRB is comprised of 11 members – ten current or former owners or officers of businesses from across the state, and the director of DBEDT or the director’s designated representative, who serves as an “ex officio” member. Three members are appointed by Senate president, three members by speaker of the House, two members by the SBRRB, and two appointed by the governor.

The appointments reflect a representation of a variety of businesses in the state with no more than two members from the same type of business and at least one representative from each county.

About the Department of Business, Economic Development & Tourism (DBEDT)
DBEDT is Hawaii’s resource center for economic and statistical data, business development opportunities, energy and conservation information, and foreign trade advantages. DBEDT’s mission is to achieve a Hawaii economy that embraces innovation and is globally competitive, dynamic and productive, providing opportunities for all Hawaii’s citizens. Through its attached agencies, the department fosters planned community development, creates affordable workforce housing units in high-quality living environments, and promotes innovation sector job growth.

# # #

Media Contacts:
Dori Palcovich
Small Business Regulatory Review Board
Phone: (808) 586-2594

Charlene Chan
Department of Business, Economic Development and Tourism
Phone: (808) 587-9006