The Homeowner Assistance Fund (HAF) Program was established by Section 3206 of the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021. Through the Act, the State of Hawaii received a total award of $50 million. The funds were divided among the counties of Hawaiʻi, Kauaʻi, Maui and the island of Oʻahu. Each county program is administered through a local nonprofit organization.

The HAF Program mitigates financial hardships associated with the coronavirus pandemic by providing funds to homeowners who experienced financial hardship after January 21, 2020 (including a hardship that began before January 21, 2020, but continued after that date) for the purpose of preventing homeowner mortgage delinquencies, defaults, foreclosures, loss of utilities or home energy services, and displacement through mortgage and other qualified housing expenses.

For those who qualify, the program may provide mortgage counseling, legal services or cover up to $30,000 in  mortgage or other qualified housing expenses. Homeowners at 150% AMI or below are eligible to apply, regardless of race or ethnicity. In accordance with Section 3206 of the Act, 60% of the funds must be prioritized to homeowners with incomes at or below 100% AMI with remaining funds prioritized to those meeting the definition of socially disadvantaged individuals as defined in the HAF plan and approved by U.S. Treasury.


For more information or to learn how to apply, contact your local program today!


Hawaiʻi County:


(808) 934-0801

Island of Oʻahu:


(808) 596-8155

Kauaʻi County:


(808) 784-3841

Maui County:

Housing Assistance – Maui Economic Opportunity, Inc. (meoinc.org)

(808) 249-2970


Other Information


HAF State Plans can be accessed through the U.S. Department of Treasury’s web site here.

The 2022 Hawaii Homeowner Assistance Fund (HAF) Annual Report is here.

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau HAF Website: Get Homeowner Assistance Funds | Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (consumerfinance.gov)

This website is supported, in whole or in part, by federal award number HAF0002 awarded to the State of Hawaii by the U.S. Department of the Treasury.